Muskoka Lakes Towns and Townships


24 Mar 2018

Muskoka Lakes Towns and Townships

AKA: Those Who Set the Bylaws

There are four Towns and Townships around the Muskoka Lakes and each has separate bylaws that govern what can be built on any particular property. Here is a round-up of the Towns and Townships, their respective jurisdictions and contact information.

The Township of Muskoka Lakes is the largest and the majority of cottage properties are in this township.

Seguin Township governs the northernmost portions of Lake Joseph and Lake Rosseau.

The Town of Gravenhurst and Town of Bracebridge have portions of Lake Muskoka within their town boundaries.

All of them are within the District of Muskoka, and they are all subject to the District Bylaws.


The District of Muskoka

This is the uppermost governing body in the region and its offices are located in Bracebridge.

Phone: 705-645-2231

Address: 70 Pine Street, Bracebridge


The Township of Muskoka Lakes

The largest area of the three big lakes is in this Township.

Phone: 705-765-3156

Address: 1 Bailey Street, Port Carling, P0B1J0


The Town of Gravenhurst

The southernmost Town on the Muskoka Lakes system.

Phone: 705-687-3412

Address: 3-5 Pineridge Gate, Gravenhurst, P1P 1Z3


The Town of Bracebridge

Includes a large swath of the eastern part of mid-Lake Muskoka

Phone: 705-645-5264

Address: 1000 Taylor Court, Bracebridge, ON P1L 1R6


Seguin Township

Has jurisdiction over the most northern parts of Lake Rosseau & Lake Joseph.

Phone: 705-732-4300

Address: 5 Humphrey Drive, Seguin